CALL FOR ABSTRACTS!The Earth Observation for Water Cycle Science 2015will take place on October 20-23 2015at ESA-ESRIN (Frascati, Italy) Deadline: 30 April 2015Website:


Five years ago, ESA, GEWEX, and EGU organized the first EO for Water Cycle Science Conference at ESA-ESRIN. For the 2015 Conference, we are again planning for a wide discussion and networking forum for the water and energy, climate, hydrology, modeling, and EO communities to review the latest advances in the use of EO for water cycle science and discuss the main scientific opportunities and research challenges for the future.The objectives of this topical conference, jointly organized by ESA and GEWEX, are:

  • Review the latest contributions of EO to water cycle science and related processes understanding, and identify the main scientific challenges for the future.
  • Assess the advances in water cycle satellite observations, their uncertainties and consistency (e.g., precipitation, clouds, water vapor, soil moisture, water levels, surface water, and groundwater measurements as well as land and ocean heat fluxes and the Earth radiation budget).
  • Identify novel and enhanced satellite-based geophysical data sets, algorithms and methods necessary to ensure an accurate and consistent characterization of the water cycle.
  • Identify current gaps in observations and review emerging mission concepts and novel observational principles that may lead to future satellite observation systems.
  • Assess the main needs in modeling and data assimilation of EO-based observations to improve our knowledge of the water cycle science and our ability to quantify future changes in water cycle, extreme events and hydrological hazards.
  • Consolidate a scientific roadmap outlining the main priorities for the future.

On behalf of the organizing committee, I invite you to participate and contribute to this conference.Please submit your abstracts before the 30th April 2015 using the dedicated link in the conference web site ( Fenandez Prieto (ESA)Graeme Stephens (NASA)Michael Rast (ESA)Peter van Oevelen (GEWEX)Sonia Seneviratne (ETH-Zurich)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.